Recent Searches
Clear

Small Group Half Day Sonoma Wine Country Tour

star-4.5122 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
San Francisco, United States
Small Group Half Day Sonoma Wine Country Tour

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults0 Seniors1 Senior2 Seniors3 Seniors4 Seniors5 Seniors6 Seniors7 Seniors8 Seniors9 Seniors10 Seniors11 Seniors12 Seniors13 Seniors14 Seniors0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon5 hours  (approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 2 more
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

When it comes to wine country, Napa gets all the attention but it can get expensive and feel overcrowded at times. If time is of the essence then this half-day wine tour to Sonoma might be the perfect remedy. Travel by coach to some of Sonoma's top wineries, soaking in not just the tannins and fruit-forward flavors, but also the countryside views from your seat. The first tasting fee is included.
  • Take a half-day wine tour from San Francisco to Sonoma
  • Learn about Napa wines as you tour top wineries
  • First tasting fee is included, additional tasting at your own expense
  • A small group tour ensures a personalized experience
Saved to wishlist!
Transportation in a comfortable vehicle offering vistas of scenic drive through Wine Country
Tasting at BOTH wineries
Hotel pickup and drop-off
Gratuities
Lunch

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

11:30 AM
This activity will end right where it started.We offer a few pick-up points in Downtown San Francisco, on Nob Hill, and Fisherman's Wharf. We start pickup from Union Square at 1130. If you are staying at the Wharf, please expect us after 1145, even closer to noon.
  • Confirmation will be received within 48 hours of booking, subject to availability
  • Must be 21 years of age to consume alcohol
  • A maximum of 14 people per booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 14 travelers
  • OPERATED BY A Taste of SF Tours
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Small Group Half Day Sonoma Wine Country Tour?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Small Group Half Day Sonoma Wine Country Tour.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Small Group Half Day Sonoma Wine Country Tour?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Small Group Half Day Sonoma Wine Country Tour.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Small Group Half Day Sonoma Wine Country Tour?
A:The policies on social distancing are:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by Small Group Half Day Sonoma Wine Country Tour.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Small Group Half Day Sonoma Wine Country Tour?
A:The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
See all safety measures taken by Small Group Half Day Sonoma Wine Country Tour.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "A half day for this was just right for me as I was only in San Francisco for a short visit." See review

Reviews by Viator travelers.  We perform checks on reviews

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
122 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 122 reviews
star-5
Not worth the time
Priya_M
, Jul 2022
The tour guide was excellent. Kept us entertained and informed throughout the trip, explaining the history of the places as we passed by. However the trip itself was not worth the time or money. There was no tour or explanation of the winery or vineyards , or wine making process . You are taken to two places and get to taste a total of 10 different wines . Which you can probably do in a bar
star-5
An enjoyable way to spend an afternoon!
Kevin_S
, Jul 2022
I'm not a wine drinker, but my wife is. However, the wine industry has always been intriguing to me so the tour was excellent for both of us! Our driver and host, Ulrich, was very personable and is also in the wine business so he brought considerable knowledge to the table. He was an excellent communicator, thus we learned a lot. There were five of us on the tour (two from Ohio, two from Illinois, and one from Japan). The conversations we had while at the tasting stops were just as enjoyable as the tastings. The half-day length was just right. We would highly recommend this tour.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Dear Kevin, thanks a lot for your feedback! We are really happy you enjoyed time during the tour with your friends and we will be glad to see you again on our other tours!
star-4
Getaway
Linda_K
, Jul 2022
We enjoyed the beautiful views of the vineyards. Our tour guide, Jerry, was knowledgeable and friendly.
star-5
Fun short trip
Mary_M
, Jun 2022
It was a fun and very personal approach since there were only 6 of us on the tour.. we went to lunch at the Sonoma plaza and hit couple wineries for wine tasting (included). I am re-booking for me and my husband.
star-5
Great Excursion!
Lee_S
, Jun 2022
Urlich was a great guide - filling in so many details about the terroir of the area and so much great info about grapes and wine
star-2
Sonoma Wine Tour -
Daniel_M
, Jun 2022
We thought Ullricht was very knowledgeable. However, we only visited two wineries and neither was very good. The trip was not memorable. We should have visited 3 wineries of better quality, like Sebastiani. And, why not have lunch at a winery instead of everyone on our own in Sonoma. This tour could have been great but was not by any means. Given our experience and price, I would not recommend.
star-5
Awesome time with very...
Jamie_D
, Jun 2022
Awesome time with very knowledgeable guide! We learned a lot and had a wonderful time. Both wineries were different and both very charming.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Dear Jamie, thanks for your feedback! We are happy you liked the tour and enjoyed your time! We will be happy to see you again!
star-3
Sonoma tour, 1 superb Vineyard and 1 total bust
Robert_C
, Jun 2022
The first portion of the trip including the Homewood Vineyard was quite enjoyable. The second Vineyard, Jacuzzi, was a gorgeous facility. BUT, the literally coerced, supposedly optional tasting for $66.10 per couple, was a total disappointment. The 4 wines presented were not in any fashion representive of the fine wines of Sonoma. Of the 4 couples on our tour, 2 students from Germany and another couple from Spain and 2 American couples were unanimous in our disappointment and we all left the tour feeling ripped off. Furthermore, the prominent sign in the bus again virtually demanding a 20% gratuity was insulting and IMHO would best have been presented upfront on the website so it could have been paid on the credit card rather than searching around for enough cash to tip the tour guide. I gave the 2 German college students enough cash for their "mandatory tip" as they were surprised and one was very upset. I confronted the tour guide at the end of the tour about our concerns, he was respectful but understandably defensive.
star-3
Would not recommend this tour.
Peter_L
, Jun 2022
Ulrich gave us a short tour of SF which we already had. The first estate winery was awesome and informative. We had a rushed 40 minutes for lunch and did not get to walk around Sonoma which would have been interesting. Jacuzzi was a waste of time and our $65...no interaction with the personnel, no information given. Not impressed.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-4
Good way to see a lovely area and taste good wines
joanne_m
, Jun 2022
The tour guide was excellent and so knowledgable, it’s a lovely drive to the winery’s. The only downfall is they advertise that extra tasting is $25 but it’s came to more for just testers which makes it an expensive day out!
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Dear Joanne_M, thank you so much for your feedback again, we are glad to know you liked the tour, but it is written on our website and on Viator either that the second tasting is excluded and you will have to pay for it at the winery.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Must go, it’s wineOclock somewhere
Elvira_V
, May 2022
Our guide was very knowledgeable and interactive with the whole group. Choice of locations to visit was fun and a breath of fresh air. I’d book this again.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Dear Elvira_V, thank you so much for the feedback! I am very pleased that my сustomers return from the tour in such a wonderful mood and get such positive emotions. We are lapping forward to seeing you again!
star-3
Where’s lunch with wine in Sonoma?
KAREN_R
, May 2022
Trip was just Ok… driver made decisions without asking us… olive oil and 2 wine tastings so we never got to lunch at lively Sonoma center but rather had a sandwich to go from a mediocre deli at 4 PM…wish were asked … tasting 4 of 5 wines at 2 rooms with no food didn’t work for us… choice of vineyards was good, not huge commercial but small vineyards with nice selections… bottom line is second vineyard was supposed to be optional if we had time or wanted to… that option was not given to us. 😩
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Dear. Karen, We are glad you liked the wineries you went to. We do work hard on our selections and planning and scheduling. We apologize that you were unable to have lunch at the Sonoma square as our wine tours usually do. On that day our schedule simply wouldn't permit it because of the time frame between the winery appointments and logistics - also, since the tours must return to San Francisco at a certain time for everyone's evening plans, etc. we have to juggle that as well. But the deli you went to was carefully chosen and anything but mediocre. As your driver/guide told you, it is owned by a 4th generation Italian Sonoma ranch family who have their own cattle, do their own slaughtering, butchering and meat preparation- and that meat goes in their sandwiches. The very ones you ate there. It's what we proudly call "farm to table" in the wine country. Tasting at the second winery was an option, you are correct. No one is required to taste there- in fact we sometimes have people on our tours who do not drink at all, they simply want to enjoy the wine country and visit the famous area. You had mentioned that your "driver didn't give you a choice". He is not able to do a tour that way because there is no option for part of the group to go to different places at different times on these tours. The entire group stays together for the entire tour. That is how all tour companies do all wine tours. Here is another way to do it: Folks are always welcome to book a private wine tour with our company and in that way, the tour goes where and when your private group wants.
star-5
Great Experience
Lydia_M
, May 2022
I did the wine tour with a few old friends and we had a great time! Our guide Ulrich was so knowledgeable about the area and taught us some really helpful tricks for wine drinking. (I will never sip wine the same way again!) He took us to two small wineries that made me feel like we’d found some real hidden gems. Overall it was a great experience!
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Dear Lydia_M, thanks for your feedback! I am extremely glad that you were satisfied with our tour and had a great experience with our guide. We will be happy to see you on the rest of our tours
star-2
Could have been a better experience!
Balkissa_A
, May 2022
The tour wasn't bad, especially the first site and the stop at Sonoma Market place. I just wish the tour guide managed the time better so he didn't rush us at the second stop. The worse is that he saved half of each wine bottle to take home with him while he poured just a sip ot two for tasting and charged each tour participant $30 for the tasting.
2 travelers found this review helpful
star-5
Amazing Wine Experience
Justeace
, May 2022
Had a wonderful day touring vineyards and learning about wines. Ulrick, our tour guide for the day doesn’t normally do tours so we were very luck. The man knows so much about and says he learns something new all the time. I had booked this tour for a different day but unfortunately there weren’t enough participants. Ulrick contacted me to let me know and change the date. He also change the pick up location from my convenience because it was my first time in the city. He is knowledgeable, friendly, and he kept us thoroughly entertained. The tour was full so we had a great time with banter and laughter and tasting all of the wines and learning how to actually pair the wines with something appropriate. I highly recommend this tour. They did a great job organizing it with a great guide.
star-5
Best experience!
Sherrel_B
, Apr 2022
Joe was awesome, very funny and professional. He texted and called to verify location pick up and time. He was very knowledgeable and informative during our tour!
star-5
Half Day Wine Tour
Lance_V
, Apr 2022
Our tour guide Jerry is phenomenal! He was made our experience super memorable. His extensive knowledge of wine, history of the area and agriculture were embellished by his warm humor. We highly recommend this tour!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Wine tasting!
Cinthia_R
, Apr 2022
Let me start by saying that we enjoyed our half day Sonoma wine tour. Driver was punctual & knowledgeable. Don’t be fooled by the negative reviews. I was a little scared when I first booked but once I got to experience the tour it was great! First, please make sure you read the instructions on what hotels they pick up and times. This is one of the reasons why our tour started a little late. We had to pick up other people & driver had to get off and look for them. Second, the first winery was a boutique winery small but very nice people & our tasting was intimate/personal and got to learn about each taste of the wine. Lastly, the last winery had amazing views of the vineyards , perfect for pictures but was too corporate feeling. Don’t get me wrong it was great but not as personal as the first one. I think it’s important to support small local business & it’s great that taste of SF tours partners with Homewood winery. Half day tour for my husband and I was perfect ! We still had time at the end of the day to experience other parts of SF on our own.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Dear Cinthia_R, thank you so much for your feedback! We appreciate you have chosen our company and also we are happy you've got such a perfect experience and you liked our tour! We will be glad to see you and your husband again!
star-5
Great experience
ConnieWang
, Apr 2022
Kirill and his wife were kind enough to pick up our group of 11 outside of San Francisco (we were lucky to be the only ones on the tour). He had a very comfortable, brand new transport vehicle for us, and it was red so very easy to remember. We did tastings at a small family owned winery and a very large one- very interesting to see the variety. Had a great time!
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Dear Connie, thanks a lot for your feedback! We are glad you were happy and got a great experience with our tour! It will be nice to see you and your friends again on our other tours!
star-5
Had so much fun. Learn a...
LOVELLA_L
, Mar 2022
Had so much fun. Learn a lot about wine. Weather was perfect and enjoyed the whole experience of wine tasting
icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
Thanks a lot for your feedback. It's nice to hear you liked the tour and we are always glad to read our customers got such a perfect experience.

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Small Group Half Day Sonoma Wine Country Tour
Small Group Half Day Sonoma Wine Country Tour

star-4.5122

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$139.00

star-4.5121

3 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$79.00

star-4.546

9 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$199.00

star-5637

9 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$159.00

star-4.5207

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$79.00

star-4.5117

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$169.00

star-43043

9 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$149.00

star-463

4 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$79.00

star-594

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$119.00
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations