Recent Searches
Clear

Beyond the Market Food Tour in Montreal

|
Badge of Excellence
|
Montréal, Canada
Beyond the Market Food Tour in Montreal

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults0 Youths1 Youth2 Youths3 Youths4 Youths5 Youths6 Youths0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


icon3 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds

Operators have paid Viator more to have their experiences featured here

Overview

Visit buzzing eateries and busy watering holes on this market and food tour in Montreal. Explore Jean-Talon Market and a section of Little Italy with your guide and discover ‘farm-to-table’ produce, Canada-style. Gain insight into Montreal locals’ love of fresh food and sample some yourself at one of their hole-in-the-wall eateries. Meet the producers who work hard to keep standards high, and gain insight into the Vietnamese, Italian and Latino influences spicing up Canada’s cuisine.
  • Market and food tour in Montreal
  • Walk the local streets with an in-the-know guide and visit eateries
  • Visit Jean-Talon Market and a section of Little Italy
  • Sample delicious foods along the way
  • Learn about various influences on Canadian cuisine
Saved to wishlist!
Local guide
Food and drinks
Gratuities
Hotel pickup and drop-off
531 Rue Bélanger , 531 Rue Bélanger, Montréal, QC H2S 1G5, Canada

We meet outside of Los Planes restaurant. We can't wait for latecomers, we ask that you show up 10 minutes before go time.

Parc de la Petite-Italie , 6634 Rue Clark, Montréal, QC H2S 3C6, Canada
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • If you have any food restrictions or allergies, you must specify in the Special Requirements box at checkout
  • Child rate applies only when sharing with 2 paying adults
  • Vegetarian option is available; please advise at time of booking if required
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 10 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Spade & Palacio Tours
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.


Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "Marie was a fantastic tour guide, I really enjoyed the tour and it was great to try so many different kinds of food." See review

Reviews by Viator travelers.  We perform checks on reviews

Reviews

5.0
star-5
208 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 208 reviews
star-5
Great time on our tour!
Lanny_S
, Aug 2022
Our guide Marie was fantastic! Loved the time at the market. Lots of interesting things to see and friendly people selling things. The picnic in the park to finish things off was really fun too.
star-5
Loved this food tour!...
Stefanie_M
, Aug 2022
Loved this food tour! Marie was our guide and she was awesome. It was the perfect amount of food and we really got to try some unique things. Having a guide through the market was amazing- we never would have tried some of these things if we had just gone on our own.
star-5
Great food tour
Beth_D
, Aug 2022
Rodrigo was an amazing guide! You can tell he loves what he does, and his knowledge of Montreal was so extensive. He wrangled our nine-person group with ease and we never felt rushed or stuffed. The pacing was perfect. I’d recommend this tour to anyone who enjoys food and a stroll around town. Thanks so much!
star-5
Great way to experience Montreal!
Rebecca_C
, Jul 2022
We thoroughly enjoyed our tour with Rodrigo! He was knowledgeable and kind, full of great information about Montreal. We enjoyed getting to know the city through a multicultural food tour. Of note was how he went out of his way to accommodate our dietary restrictions.
star-5
Awesome Beyond the market food tour
Darrel_A
, Jul 2022
Alise (probably wrong spelling) was amazing. Great food and she she was very knowledgeable about the food experiences. Would recommend.
star-5
Great tasty experience.
Sally_S
, Jul 2022
Our guide Amelie was knowledgeable, friendly and went at the perfect pace. Enjoyed all our tastes especially through the JT Market.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Lovely! Thanks for that. The BTM tour is a a great discovery of so many different vendors and foods in lesser seen areas. No better person to discover with than Amélie who worked at the market!
star-5
Excellent balance and great guide
Joni_B
, Jul 2022
We loved this tour! There was a perfect amount of stopping to taste/learn about the history of where we were/and walking. When I booked it I, was a bit worried as to what my husband would think because he doesn’t try new things or enjoy group settings where he doesn’t know the people, but this was his favorite tour. Our guide (Amelie) was amazing and being this was our first tour experience ever, she made it so fun we did three more tours in three days.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Love it! Glad the hubby did too. Always so nice when we get guests that try multiple of our routes. Merci énormément!!
star-5
Perfect balance of overview and in depth tour of a Montreal neighborhood
Danielle_L
, Jul 2022
Second food tour with Spade and Palacio. Next time we visit Montreal - we will do a third one with them. The food stops were amazing and Danny is an excellent guide.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Glad to have hosted you again! You were lovely to share an afternoon with! Cheers
star-5
Montreal hidden gem
Gerard_O
, Jul 2022
Amazing food experiences I would never have thought of especially the Farmers market. Marie our guide was Magnifique ♥️
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Love showcasing less visites parts through our food tour. Thanks for coming along. Toi tu es magnifique!
star-5
Superb Tour, Poor Customer Service
Trinh_N
, Jun 2022
The tour (6/3) was excellent, but the customer service was rude. I called to notify 2/4 members of my party could not come. Right off the bat, I was scolded for not giving sufficient notice of their absence, which results in "tasting portions going to waste". Then I was given a lecture on how the representative grew up in a lower-income household, so food was not wasted, and that I was "wasting" the tasting food items. I was startled to receive such remark, and explained that the CDC requires a negative COVID-19 test 1 day prior to our flight back to the States, which happened to be on the same day as our food tour, and that the 2 who could not come had tested positive. To ensure the safety of others in the tour, we thought it was best for them not to come. To say the least, the extra 2 portions of tastings were eaten by us and the rest of the tour group, so no food was wasted :) In addition, Marie and her trainee (I forgot his name) were exceptionally informative and pleasant to eat with!
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hi there! Happy to hear that regardless of you missing the first stop due to your tardiness you still thought the tour was superb. The rest of your comments are unfair and not truthful. You did not call us to tell us you would be less guests than booked originally. We called you. We called you five minutes before tour time to see if you were close-by or running late. No answer. We called you at tour time, 5 minutes after and finally, 10 minutes after we were supposed to start to receive no answer. The rest of the group, that was able to show up on time, wasted their time and started with cold food because of your absence. When you did call, 15 minutes after the tour had started, you let us know that you might be running late. That's when we asked you where you four were located to find out that you were less guests than reserved originally. Running late is something you could make us aware of before start time, not after, it's common curtesy. It happens, we get it. Being real and not rude with you about how wasting food means a lot to us is a stance we will continue to take. There is a whole behind the scenes that goes on to make sure we do our best to host you... The CDC didn't create a testing rule for your family of four and you only. The rest of our group planned their tests appropriately when it came to timing and somehow made it on time. If you truly wanted to be responsible, being in close contact with those who tested positive should have meant a no-go, nada, and a call to warn us and a that's it that's all. We work very hard and have a great passion for the city we showcase to our guests in a laid back and informal but informative manner. We're a small business trying to do our best. It's not up to us to teach you how to be a better customer or guest. That doesn't mean we will not call you out for being the opposite. I believe this platform should be used for honest feedback, you could help us learn and become better. This shouldn't be a place for us to lie about our experiences because we messed up.. Thank for joining!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Thank you for sharing some of Montreal with us, Marie.
Jennifer_H
, Jun 2022
Marie was a fantastic tour guide. We really enjoyed our time with her. She clearly loves Montreal, and loves to share it with others. As she explained, this is not a tour for bagels, smoked meat, and poutine. There are plenty of opportunities to try those Montreal staples and she will happily make recommendations. This tour visits some lovely little family owned places and offers tastes of what makes this neighborhood (these neighborhoods?) a part of a very vibrant city. Oh, and by the way, I wish my town had a market like Jean-Talon. Incredible! I've not been to a market that great since our last trip to Europe.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Such a great read on our route. Google and your mom will tell you to get bagels, and they are right. You don't need us for that. We focus on all local, inspiring business stories and neighbourhood spots we want to share with you as our new friends in town. Thanks for coming!
star-5
This food tour is a “must-do” with Marie as a guide
Rochelle_P
, May 2022
We had a wide variety of tastings, but ending with a catered picnic was the “piece of resistance”. We are very happy to have included this tour in our visit to beautiful Montreal.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Love the variety of foods and areas on this tour, thanks for sharing.
star-5
Marie was a great tour...
Sharon_G
, May 2022
Marie was a great tour guide! She was attentive and knowledgeable . Good choices of tasting experiences throughout the tour
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Love the food tour. Happy Marie Pier showed you a good time. Thanks for coming!!
star-5
A unique experience you don’t want to miss
Jennifer_C
, May 2022
This was such a fun way to kick off our trip to Montreal. We went to places that I probably would not have tried otherwise because they were off the beaten path. Our guide Danny was like the cool kid who knows all the best places to go. Would do this again in a heartbeat.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Stop it, you’re a cool kid! The food tour is the best and we’re so happy after two years she’s back on. Come join us on a bike tour next! Cheers
star-5
Sensational tour!
Alan_F
, Oct 2021
Danny is a sensational tour guide. Knowledgable, passionate, humorous. The food selections and accompanying explanations were excellent. Schedule this tour with Danny with confidence. You won't regret it.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Awesome tour! Wonderful...
Mitzi_M
, Sep 2021
Awesome tour! Wonderful sampling of the tastes on offer in Montréal. Marie was so accommodating and insightful.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Thanks for coming along, it’s been a tough year trying to get these running again. Can’t wait for the route to get back to « normal ». Happy to hear you enjoyed your time.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Cultural cuisine tour
Lisa_G
, Sep 2021
Our tour guide was super knowledgeable and friendly. The samples were also a great way to discover the market.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Heya! Happy to hear you enjoyed the route. We’re pretty pleased to be finally running these back up again. Thanks for sharing.
2 travelers found this review helpful
star-5
Danny is great!!
SpookyandTink
, Oct 2019
The food tour was awesome! We were thinking that like other food tours, we’d be so stuffed afterwards. It’s one reason I am always a little hesitant to book food tours. Anyway, this was perfect! Small plates, coffee, beer and moderate plates made this a great tour. Danny knows his stuff and made Montreal come to life as we walked and talked. This tour takes you to local places. Family owned, women owned. No chains. Amazing flavors. Then, he leaves you with a list of other places to try.
2 travelers found this review helpful
star-5
You must GO!
Ken S
, Oct 2019
This tour was one of the highlights of my trip. Our guide, Marie, was an inspirational leader. She was funny, caring, knowledeable, and everyone had a great time. We visited many food sites, mostly "off the beaten path." This made the trip a lot of fun. We sampled, spices, ethnic foods, meats, cheeses, and lots more.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
Thanks for sharing your positive experience with others, it means a lot to us being the small company we are. Marie-Pier is such a lovely team member we're proud to have her.
star-5
Market Tour
John_L
, Oct 2019
Guide was fantastic, Great idea to tour market, food choices great. Would recommend to friend 5 stars
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
Thanks for sharing :) Happy to hear you enjoyed!

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Beyond the Market Food Tour in Montreal
Beyond the Market Food Tour in Montreal

star-5206

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$79.30

star-558

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$128.16

star-5118

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$76.51

star-51

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$58.00

star-518

4 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$123.35

star-5115

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$69.69

star-4.539

7 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$166.60

star-58

2 hours 15 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$136.17

star-521

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$118.14
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations